Skip to content

Time Management Tips You Probably Haven’t Heard

December 7, 2009

Here are a few time management tips you probably haven’t seen on any of those “Top 10 Ways to Manage Your Time” lists:

I cook a day ahead. I’ve tried to cook all my meals for the week on Sunday, but that was overwhelming. First of all, I don’t want to spend my Sunday afternoon in the kitchen, I want to hang out with my family and friends. Secondly, where am I supposed to store it? And what happens if I change my mind?

So now I cook my meal for the next day after the kids go to bed (this idea came from a Twitter friend). That way we can have a real meal minutes after we get home, instead of waiting the hour it would take for me to bake chicken.  

I PWD (Polish While Driving). Yes, I know you may be grimacing, but it’s true. The average stop light is at least one minute and I go through several on my way to work.

So, instead of sitting there in a huff because the light is taking too long I polish my nails while I wait. I use quick dry nail polish; right now I’m loving NYC’s In a New York City Minute in Central Park. It’s great because I don’t have to worry about smearing polish, I don’t waste time at home waiting for my nails to dry, and there are no kid chores to mess them up. By the time I get to the office, I’m set.      

I talk while I shop. I realize that this bothers some people, but when I’m shopping sans children I can catch up with the grown-ups in my life. So, while I’m browsing the aisles of Target or Trader Joes, I chat, usually to my mom, my sister or a dear friend.

I don’t yell into the phone, I’m not rude to the cashier (I hang up or put the person on hold while I check out) and I am not oblivious to what is going on around me.

So, if you see me talking in the store and you’re wondering what is so important that it can’t wait, here’s the deal. What I’m saying may not be important, but the person I’m talking to is priceless. Yes, this is me managing my relationships.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

