Skip to content

Weighed In Public

January 14, 2010

Our office has a New Year’s Resolution Fitness Challenge. Teams of four band together to drink 64 oz. of water, eat fruits and veggies and hopefully lose a few pounds in the process. Seems harmless enough, right?

Well, that’s what I thought too. At least that was the case until I got a call from my team captain this morning saying our team was to be weighed in at 9:05. Ummm, what?!!! Does this mean that THREE other people (four including the nurse) will know my weight? Okay, I realize I shouldn’t ask this question out loud, because who wants a team member starting the challenge withholding information? So I say “ok” in my bubbly voice, yet inside I am a panicky mess.

I look at the clock and it is 8:56. How in the world am I going to lose at least 15 pounds in the next 10 minutes, because there is NO WAY I’m letting these people know my real weight. And yes, now these lovely team members have been reduced to “these people.”

I look at my outfit and decide the Spanx have to go, because they must easily weigh a pound. Next are my boots, which I trade for pumps. Added bonus, no socks with pumps. I have on a cardigan and I decide I will take that off when I get in the nurse’s office. Sure, I don’t really want to show my arms right now, but it’s better than the scale embarrassing me.

Then I get even more ridiculous. I close my office door and start doing sets of jumping jacks, squats and lunges. You know, using the larger muscles to hopefully make the scale my friend. I only have time for two sets of each and then I sprint over to the nurse’s building.

When I get there, NO ONE is there but her. It seems the TEAM has a weigh-in time, but we are each weighed in private! I still took off my cardigan.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. A-Dizzle permalink
    January 19, 2010 11:21 am

    sooooo, jumping jacks? really? ROFL!!! well, at least you guys didn’t do it “the biggest loser” style where those folks had to go to a public place (i.e. park, restaurant, football field, etc) and get weighed in in front of their whole TOWN! i was in tears for them, especially the women because a lot fo them didn’t want to know their own weight, let alone have the whole town in on that info. anyhoo, good luck on the weight loss!

    p.s. are u chronicling it with before & after pics?

    • January 19, 2010 11:41 am

      @ A-Dizzle I’ve considered doing before and after, but I’m still a little nervous. So, I’m just going to wing it and say, ummm… maybe. And there is NO WAY I would have done Biggest Loser style! 🙂

  2. January 26, 2010 6:20 pm

    I think if real weights rather than made up ones were put in women’s magazines, we would all feel a little better about ourselves. I am physically fit, a size 12, 5 foot 9 and weigh 175 pounds but 175 pounds seems HUGE when a magazine says that Brooke Shields (same height as me) weighs 150. There is no way I am 25 pounds more than her.

    • January 27, 2010 10:46 am

      Jenn,
      You are so right! That’s one reason I love the real women commercials for Dove and the recent Vogue magazine that used real women. We need to see more of that.

Leave a Reply

