Skip to content

Something New

January 22, 2010

To most of us something new signals a new purchase or a groundbreaking experience. And while that is nice (trust me, I LOVE to shop…) one of the best new things we can get is a perspective. You know, a fresh look at something or someone.

Instead of finding fault with people we are blessed to know or our circumstances, a constantly fresh perspective can keep us focused on what is going right.

This freshness is helping me keep my cool when Hubby does not see the clothes he left in the middle of the bathroom floor. I remind myself that he provides uncontrollable laughter when I need it most, so I can just pick up the clothes without nagging.

Instead of dwelling on my best friend’s struggle with punctuality, I focus on the fact that she will open her door or answer her phone at 3 a.m. if I need to talk.

And instead of looking back and wishing I had done things differently I look at it as life lessons. Now I have things that I can teach others and it also keeps me humble, not judgmental.

So yes, I am a sucker for new accessories, and I’m always looking for a new experience. But these things are temporary joys. Being grateful for the life that I have and the people in it, that’s the best something new I can ever give myself.

Towanda

p.s. This post was inspired by My Brown Baby’s Beautiful Mind Writing Contest.

One Comment leave one →
  1. A-Dizzle permalink
    January 22, 2010 4:21 pm

    UGH! get outta mi cabeza!!! i JUST had a very good experience with this today (my fb status reflects such *giggle*). and while mine was more about cutting dead weight, i still applaud the notion of something new…mine being “no dramz!” seriously, i just cannot entertain things the way i used to. takes too much energy…and i need it for sooooo many other things. also, i read a selection about joy yesterday and it was talking about how happiness is connected to “happenings” which are temporary and change often, whereas joy is an attitude, a choice to say the least….great lesson!

Leave a Reply

