Skip to content

Escalating Threats

January 27, 2010

My four-year-old does not take “no” well. And since we don’t allow tantrums and door slamming, she punishes us with threats.

Until two weeks ago, her biggest was “You’re not invited to my birthday party!” So, imagine my surprise when my refusal to let her watch cartoons prompted an “I’m going to call the police!”

Okay…  what?! Where did you learn THAT?! That’s what I wanted to say, but of course I can’t let her see my shock. So I keep my cool and do what any loving, devoted mother would do. That’s right, I scared her.

I explained to her that calling the police is what she does if someone is hurting her. So, if she decided to call the police they would think that I was hurting her. And since it is their job to protect her they would have to take her to live with someone else. And these new people wouldn’t be nearly as nice as Mommy and Daddy. Plus, she wouldn’t be able to play with us after her bath and she wouldn’t be able to see her little sisters every day. This got her attention, but here’s what really got her.

I explained that when the police came they would take her, but not her toys, clothes or jewelry. Her response, “You mean I would have to leave ALL of my clothes here?!” When I answered yes, she says, “Well, Mommy… I was just playing…”.

I’m not sure how I feel about this. I think I did a good job of explaining when policemen should be called and the consequences of prank phone calls. But really, is the idea of leaving her clothes behind the most traumatic thing to her?

(Just kidding, I know she would miss her sisters, toys… oh yeah, her parents, too… *smile*)

One Comment leave one →
  1. A-Dizzle permalink
    January 31, 2010 5:45 pm

    “L” to the friggin “O” and “L” hilarious! sassy aren’t we 😉

Leave a Reply

