Skip to content

Ummmm… That’s Not a Treat

April 5, 2010

When I travel without the girls I always bring them back a treat, or at least what I consider a treat. So in my last trip to NYC I bought outfits, really cute outfits. I get home, pull out the bag and I’m excited to see their faces once I do the “treat reveal.” 

 They are bubbling over as I pull out the clothes, not because they love them, but because they are still waiting for their treat. I try to explain that the outfits are the treat, and they like them, but according to Princess 1 “clothes are not a treat.” They insist the treat is the half eaten bag of plantain chips in my purse.  I give in and let them share the bag. I also make a mental note that next time I don’t have to try so hard.

The following week as I was on my way to New Orleans they don’t take any chances. Princess 1 says, “Can you bring us back a real treat, like candy or cookies or something?” And Princess 2 cosigns with a nod and says, “Yes Mommy, candy.”

At this point I wonder when the secret meeting happened to discuss my inability to choose treats. I also wonder if Princess 1 was voted spokesperson or if she took it upon herself to lead the cause.

Nevertheless, I went with candy. White chocolate lollipops (see picture) to be exact, and they were a HUGE hit. Wonder what my pep talk will be next time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Alisa N. permalink
    March 7, 2012 6:53 pm

    So true at this age they don’t value clothes as much as they will in the near future. That sucker from NOLA looks so good!

Leave a Reply

